MINUTES OF THE JOINT MEETING OF THE JOHNSON COUNTY SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT BOARD AND THE CITIZENS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Monday, January 11, 2021

The meeting of the Johnson County Solid Waste Management District Board was called to order by Vice Chairman Kevin Walls on Monday, January 11, 2020 at 1:45 P.M. at the Johnson County Courthouse Annex Auditorium, 86 W. Court Street, Franklin, IN 46131

MEMBERS PRESENT: Commissioner Brian Baird, Commissioner Kevin Walls, Councilman David Lekse, Mayor Mark Myers

MEMBERS ABSENT: Commissioner Ron West, Councilwoman Dawn Graham

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

Vice Chairman Kevin Walls asked for a motion to elect officers to the Johnson County Solid Waste Management District Board for 2021. A motion was made by Brian Baird to maintain the same Board as in 2020. Mark Myers, Chairman, Kevin Walls, Vice Chairman and Ron West as Secretary. Motion seconded by David Lekse and approved. This was passed unanimously by a voice vote.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Motion was made by Mark Myers to approve minutes from November 9, 2020 meeting. Brian Baird seconded the motion and minutes were approved. This was passed unanimously by a voice vote.

TREASURER'S REPORT: Pat Sherman

Approval of the check register dated, November 7 to December 31, 2020 and January 1 to January 8, 2021. **Motion was made by Mayor Mark Myers to approve check registers, auto pay deductions, and claims.** Motion was seconded by Mr. Lekse and approved. This was voted on and passed unanimously.

Mr. Sherman requested that the Board approve the following line-item transfers:

Transfer is requested from 5398 Recycling Center to 5384 Christmas Tree Recycling in the amount of \$100.00

Transfer is requested from 5112 Office Manager to 5111 Deputy Director in the amount of \$ 0.12

Transfer is requested from 5112 Office Manager to 5117 Recycling Supervisor in the amount of \$2681.45

Mr. Lekse made a motion to approve the transfers as stated by Mr. Sherman. Motion was seconded by Mr. Baird. This was passed unanimously by a voice vote.

CAC COMMITTEE REPORT: Jessie Biggerman

They have not had a meeting, but hope to have one in the future.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT: Jessie Biggerman

Jessie informed the Board that the price of cardboard has gone up. We hope to ship every six weeks. The Tox Box closed in December and reopens in March. We had a large increase in materials collected.

We have been continuing programing by placing books in the Little Lending Libraries. We are continuing to keep our website and social media up with programing. We are still available to do programs through Zoom meetings.

Karla Coffey informed the Board that she submitted \$5,684.40 for Cares Act for reimbursement. The amount of \$425.55 was denied for reimbursement. The District received a total of \$5,231.85 in Cares Act reimbursement. She also reported on the Christmas tree recycling program. She informed the Board that we relocated the Johnson County Fairgrounds location to the Johnson County Shrine Club due to the Covid testing location. She reported that Indian Creek seemed to have its largest year yet while the other two sites seemed to be down in numbers.

LEGAL REPORT: Lynn Gray

Ms. Gray presented the Board with two Anti-Nepotism policies. One of which states that you are not in a direct line of supervision over any family members and the other states that you are not involved with any company that the District contracts with. She also presented the Board with two resolutions. Resolution 2021-01 Resolution Complying with Anti-Nepotism Law and Resolution 2021-02 allowing the District to pay regular paid bills. **Motion was made by Mr. Myers to approve Resolution 2021-01 Resolution Complying with Anti-Nepotism Law and Resolution 2021-02 Resolution Permitting Prepayment of Designated Claims.** Motion was seconded by Mr. Baird. This was passed unanimously by a voice vote.

OLD BUSINESS:

None

NEW BUSINESS:

Next meeting is on March 8, 2021 at 1:30 pm at the Courthouse Annex.

PUBLIC COMMENT:

None

Motion was made by Mr. Baird to adjourn the meeting. Motion was seconded by Mr. Myers.

Annual Finance Board Meeting

The meeting of the Annual Finance Board of Johnson County Solid Waste Management District Board was called to order by Vice Chairman Kevin Walls on Monday, January 11, 2021 at the Johnson County Courthouse Annex Auditorium, 86 W. Court Street, Franklin, IN 46131

MEMBERS PRESENT: Commissioner Brian Baird, Commissioner Kevin Walls, Councilman David Lekse, Mayor Mark Myers

MEMBERS ABSENT: Commissioner Ron West, Councilwoman Dawn Graham

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

Motion was made by David Lekse to elect the same officers as elected to the Solid Waste Management Board to the Finance Board by acclamation. Motion was seconded by Brian Baird and approved as presented. This was a voice vote and passed unanimously.

Mr. Sherman informed the Board of Directors of the Audit Claims Committee as well as a shareholder for First Merchants Bank.

Pat Sherman communicated to the board members that our funds are currently deposited in an account at First Merchants. Lynn asked for the disclosure of anyone on the Board holding a position on the Board of Directors at First Merchants. No conflict was voiced. **Motion was made by Mr. Baird to approve the use of First Merchants.** Motion was seconded by Mr. Lekse. This was a voice vote and passed unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT: None	
Motion was made to adjourn by Brian Baird. Motion was seconded by Kevin Walls.	
Vavin Walls Vice Chairman	Varia P. Coffay, Pagarding Sagratory
Kevin Walls, Vice Chairman	Karla R. Coffey, Recording Secretary